Day 1

It is about 24 hours since I got out of surgery, and I am feeling pretty good! I have amazingly low levels of pain compared to when I had the PAO on my left. To give you an idea, for my left PAO I pressed my PCA for morphine around 400 times with about 150 successful doses in the first days after surgery (the others weren’t successful because a time lock out system only allows 1 dose every 5 minutes). On top of that, I was taking endone, panadol, tramadol and had 2 patches of some sort of pain killer, and was still in agony. As of right now, I have pressed my PCA 23 times for 20 successful doses, only have one patch and am taking panadol.

It has been a completely different experience. I can sit up, I can move my leg around a little bit and can generally function pretty well! It is completely incomparable! Until I actually spoke to my surgeon I was wondering if he had actually done the procedure at all! But he has done it, and all went well. This time I had two units of blood as well as 600ml of my own recycled blood. I don’t remember being in recovery or moving to my room, I just remember waking up slowly in my room and the rest of last night is a blur. I have compression stockings on, as well as a sort of leg sleeve that inflates and deflates over and over to keep the blood flowing in my legs. I think these have helped a lot because my feet and heels don’t feel sore at all. Right now I feel about as good as I did on day 4 or 5 last time!

In my PCA I have ketamine instead of morphine that I had last time. I think it definitely helps with pain, but it messes with my head a fair bit. Almost immediately after pressing the PCA I start to see double, and feel slow and uncoordinated. It also makes me so tired I almost can’t stay awake. I guess it will be good for when I want to go to sleep tonight! I have different dressings this time as well – I have the honeycomb type padding over both wounds, like I did for the scope. It’s good because I can see where the scar is going to be…and I think I will be pretty much symmetrical!

So right now I am pretty happy knowing that all of my major surgery has been finished, and all that is ahead is a lot of recovery and rehab. I’m relieved that it all went well, and that it’s now up to me to get my legs back to being as strong as possible.

Questions/comments/anything...